» Schools

New Horizons Fellowship’s Easter Egg Hunt at Werling Park

Saturday, March 24th at 2 PM

Come join the fun-free admission, fun and prizes!

POSTED: 03/19/18 at 3:12 pm. FILED UNDER: Church, News, Schools

Emanuel Lutheran Church Rummage Sale, 800 Green St, New Haven.

April 19, 9:00 a.m.- 7:00 p.m. and April 20, 9:00 a.m.- 2:00 p.m., outside sales at 8:00 a.m.

$2.00 bag sale on April 20

POSTED: 03/14/18 at 10:40 am. FILED UNDER: Business, Church, News, Schools

Congratulations to Nick Ammer, New Haven High, recipient of the Bill and Todd Fritcha Memorial Scholarship Fund.

The scholarship is awarded to a New Haven High senior who will be continuing their education in a construction related field. The award was given Monday night at the Mayor State of the City Address.

POSTED: 03/13/18 at 9:54 am. FILED UNDER: News, Schools, Sports

POSTED: 03/12/18 at 10:20 am. FILED UNDER: Business, News, Schools

Lutheran Children’s Hospital announces 2018 calendar of Safe Sitter® classes

Sitters 11 and older hone safety skills and child care basics

Lutheran Children’s Hospital is now enrolling participants for its first Safe Sitter® class of the year scheduled for April 3. This coincides with spring break week for multiple area school systems. Safe Sitter is an instructional program that teaches girls and boys how to handle emergencies when caring for young children. Classes incorporate basic first aid skills, CPR, how to change diapers, how to screen babysitting jobs to decide which ones to accept and which ones to decline and how and when to talk to a 9-1-1 dispatcher.

The classes are taught by Lutheran Children’s Hospital staff and prepare babysitters to confidently handle normal situations and crises. The training also dives into how to be safe with social media and obtaining resources online for appropriate children’s activities.

Registrations are accepted on a first-come, first-served basis, and class size is limited. The cost for the class is $60, and it includes a Safe Sitter backpack / kit.

Classes run from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on the following dates at Lutheran Hospital:


April 3 – Kachmann Auditorium

June 5 – Special Function Rooms 1 & 2

July 12 – Special Function Rooms 1 & 2

Aug. 3 – Special Function Rooms 1 & 2

Dec. 27 – Special Function Rooms 1 & 2

A graduation ceremony for each session takes place at 3 p.m. Graduates receive a completion card demonstrating that they know how to use their skills in situations they encounter.

Students must be 11 to 14 years old to participate. To register, contact Lisa Pearson, RN, at (260) 435-2699, option 3, or by email at lpearson@lhn.net. More details are available online at LutheranChildrensHosp.com/classes-for-kids.

POSTED: 03/06/18 at 3:43 pm. FILED UNDER: News, Schools

POSTED: 03/06/18 at 12:37 pm. FILED UNDER: Business, Entertainment, News, Schools

POSTED: 03/05/18 at 9:02 am. FILED UNDER: News, Schools

Woodlan Jr/Sr High School Poetry Winner Recognized by Board of Trustees

WHS School Poetry Winner with School board

Thomas Bemus, 11th grader at Woodlan Jr. Sr. High won the 11th grade level of the Allen County Library Poetry Contest. Thomas was recognized by the EACS Board and he also read his award winning poem to the board!  Below is his winning poem:

Today an assignment was given to me.

The contradiction of it was plain to see.

The work so contradictory.

Seemed rather odd, for you or me.

This poem I was now commanded to write.

Its real, true purpose was of clearest sight.

To take new creativity.

And turn to derividity.

The rules of rhymes only exist to abhor.

It doesn’t need structure to avoid such a bore.

The power is in the words, true.

So write what is truest to you.

By: Thomas Bemus

POSTED: 02/26/18 at 12:19 pm. FILED UNDER: Schools

Woodlan Football Team Honored for Hard Work and Dedication

WHS Football Team Members with School Board

The Woodlan Warriors football team was the state runner-up in the Class 2A state championship contest at Lucas Oil Stadium. The Warriors faced Southridge hoping to clinch their first state title since 1981.  The Warriors had a devastating 2 point loss in the final seconds of the contest.  Though a heartbreaking loss, several players broke records and the team had grand accomplishments.  Because of the team’s hard work, the EACS Board recognized and honored them for their dedication and leadership. Team accomplishments include:

  • 2 ACAC Championships
  • 2 Sectional Titles
  • 2 Regional Championships
  • 1 Semi-State Championship
  • 1 State Runner-Up

POSTED: 02/26/18 at 12:16 pm. FILED UNDER: News, Schools, Sports

1st Source Bank Foundation Financially Supports EACS Educational Foundation Efforts

1st Source Bank Dontation

On February 6, 2018, 1st Source Bank Foundation representatives (Andrea Ehresman (Business Banker 1st Source Bank and EACS Educ. Fndn. Board VP) and Erik Watson (Branch Manager, New Haven 1st Source Bank)) provided EACS Educational Foundation representatives with a check in the amount of $5,000 for a grant to support the Foundation’s efforts.

According to EACS Educational Foundation director Rose Fritzinger, “These funds will help support our EACS Educational Foundation’s Dual Credit / Collegiate Connection program whereby the Foundation reimburses EACS high school Junior and Senior students who successfully complete college coursework while still enrolled in an EACS high school. Through these efforts, since the Foundation began this initiative, more than 1,300 students have begun their college experience while still in high school. EACS Educational Foundation representatives thank the 1st Source Bank Foundation for this tremendous support. ”

Donations to the EACS Educational Foundation can be made by contacting Rose Fritzinger, Director: 260/446-0135.

POSTED: 02/12/18 at 8:51 am. FILED UNDER: News, Schools